Joyce Broadbent Open Perpetual Challenge

Mrs Joyce Elsworthy ( nee Broadbent)

Joyce Broadbent Perpetual Trophy Honour Board rOLL

Joyce Elsworthy burst on the Goulburn Valley Golf Scene in 1939 when as Joyce Broadbent she won the first of her 17 Mooroopna Club Championship. Joyce later added 10 Shepparton Club Championships and 4 Goulburn Valley championships to her illustrious record. Joyces name became synonymous with ladies in the Goulburn Valley.

For many years Joyce was Captain of G.V. Country Week teams and on several occasion reached the final of Victorian Country Championships, Sadly the title eluded her.

Joyce’s ability as an administrator and ambassador for golf was recognised both in the Goulburn Valley and beyond. In 1969 Joyce became the Goulburn Valley delegate to VLGU when country golf was first recognised by that body. Her contribution was further recognised in 1982 when she became the first country vice-president to be appointed by that VLGU.

At her best Joyce played off a handicap of 3. At age 85 off 23 handicap.

She was always willing to assist Golfers at every level to improve their game from beginners to accomplished players.

As Joyce would say of her long involvement in the game.


Joyce’s charm, modesty and her achievement resulted in her being appointed the first Life Member of G.V.L.G.A in 1975.

The Joyce Broadbent Open Perpetual Challenge Shield was donated by Numurkah’s life member Fay Powell in 1972. It is in recognition of Joyce’s contribution to golf across the Goulburn Valley and beyond.