If you would like to subscribe to the GMGA Monthly Newsletter, sign up here.

Latest News

2018 Gray Barton and Gollan-Hicks-Kelly Team Event

 Monday, April 23, 2018

2018 Gray Barton and Gollan-Hicks-Kelly Team Event Results

Gollan-Hicks-Kelly Team Event Winners with 135 points aggregate:

Tocumwal Golf Club: Jill Loversidge, Dianne Duncan, Susan Davies, and Sandra Williams


Gray Barton Team Event Winners: Kyabram Valley View

Team Captain Paul Dickens hold the trophy aloft.

Team Members: Paul Dickens, Barry Scott, Ashley Kuiper, and Paul Kuiper

Goulburn Murray District Golf Teams Event

One Sunday, 124 district golfers, the largest filed in recent history, played at Tocumwal Golf and Bowls Club in the Men’s and Women’s Teams Event.

The events conducted by the Goulburn Murray Golf Association was highlighted by the fact that players from a variety of clubs were successful and as Association President David Roberts said at presentations “ the large field and overwhelming support for the men’s and women’s events far outweighed the disappointment that some clubs were not represented”

The new team’s event for women introduced by the association this year has been established as the Gollan-Hicks-Kelly Shield in recognition of its three living female life members.  The ecstatic winners of the Shield were Jill Loversidge, Di Dungan, Sue Davies and Sandra Williams from the host club Tocumwal with 135 points well ahead of a Rich River team on 127.

 The top individual women players were in Division One Zoe Courtney from Mooroopna won with 36 points on a countback from Josie Kirkman from Rich River also on 36.  In Division Two Joy Debney Rich River on 40 points won ahead of Christine Ross also from Rich River on 39 points.  Nearest the pins went to Cheryl Hart from Tocumwal and Jan Coe from Hill Top Tatura. With balls down the line going to players from three different clubs namely, Susan Davies, Kerry McKenna, Cheryl Hart, Jill Sheedy, Gayle Edwards and Marie Collins.

The Men’s teams played for the Gray Barton Trophy which has been contested since 1966, a trophy that recognises the work of Gray Barton for golf in our district. The winning team from Kyabram Valley View comprising Barry Scott, Paul Dickens, Ashley and Paul Kuiper returned a combined score of 129 points ahead of teams from Tocumwal and Cobram-Barooga with 126 points.

Ashley Kuiper from the winning team recorded the best individual score in Division One with 39 points ahead of Joel Watson from Rich River, still celebrating his summer pennant win, on 37 points.  In Division Two Ricky Bourke from Tocumwal on 38 points took the prize ahead of club mate Rod Buchmasser on 37 points.  Nearest the pins went to John Bradbury from Tocumwal and Will Power from Cobram-Barooga.  Balls down the line stopped at 34 points and went to players from six different clubs namely, Jack Flarance, Bill Ashcroft, Ronald Loversidge, Gerry Lawson, Neville Attrill, Matt Haddrell, Matt McLeod, Phil Nunn, Rob Kilgour, Les Nation, Wayne Gould and David Roberts.

David Roberts


Phone 0429 385 928