If you would like to subscribe to the GVDGA Monthly Newsletter, sign up here.

Latest News

2016 GVDGA Winter Pennant Winners

 Wednesday, July 27, 2016

2016 GVDGA Winter Pennant Results


The Final of the Goulburn Valley District Golf Association Men’s Winter Pennant series was played at Hill Top Golf Club on Sunday.

Cold conditions greeted players for the early starters however the sun did try to come out and the rain stayed away most of the day.  This season has had some of the wettest conditions for a number of years with a lot of venue changes happening.  Thank you to all the clubs that assisted with all the moves.

President of the Association Peter Fraser thanked Hill Top for hosting the event and having the course in good condition.  He also thanked the Hill Top officials and staff for their help in running the event.  Association Captain Ross Campbell presented all winning team Captains with the traditional Premiership Flag’s.

Division 1 Numurkah def Mooroopna 4 and 1

Numurkah was successful in winning Division 1 last year and they were defending the Bert Larsen Perpetual Trophy.  Mooroopna were also undefeated.

Dylan Grandell def Jordy Geisler 1 up, Mitch Grandell def Ben Mac Gibbon 5 and 3, Andrew Storer def James Mac Gibbon 1 up, Nick Ludington def Jamie Scapin 5 and 4 and Matt Sellars lost to Brett Kellow 3 and 2.

Division 2 Mooroopna def Numurkah 3 and 2

Numurkah played in this final last year and played Mooroopna this year who had a big win in the last round to get into the final.

Adrian Gleeson def Gary Hosie 3 and 2, Dean McDonald lost to Jamie Ward 4 and 3, David Young lost to Andrew Nicholls 3 and 2, Michael Barca def Brandon Hosie 2 and 1 and Steven Haigh def David Booth 2 up.

Division 3 Cobram def Shepparton 3 and 2

Two different clubs were out to win this Division this year.  Shepparton were the leaders in this division and played Cobram who won in the last round to get into the final by one game.

Mick Hayler def Shane McDonald 1 up, Will Power lost to Ken Baxter 7 and 6, Jordan Bovolina def Alan Schmedje 6 and 5, Jon Milovitch lost to Wes Ridd 7 and 5 and Matt Haddrell def Bryan Scott 4 and 3.

Division 4 Shepparton def Kialla 4 and 1

Two different clubs were out to win this Division this year. Kialla finished on top and were in another final but they were beaten by Shepparton in the first round.

Greg Birks def Mario Gagliardi 4 and 3, Gavan Mears lost to Steve Roberts 5 and 3, Bruce Fuller def Jordan Meloury 2 and 1, Clem Robl Def Jim Mallis 19th and Dave De’Lia def James Bicknell 7 and 5.

Division 5 Ky Parkland def Nagambie 3 and 2

Two different clubs were out to win this Division this year with Ky Parkland undefeated during the season.  This final went to the last pair on the last hole for a decision which went Ky Parkland’s way.

Rick Walsh lost to Tyrone Muir 3 and 2, Paul McInnes def Bob Norris 3 and 2, Ed McQuienn def Dean Brown 4 and 3, Scott McLennan lost to Mark Nolan 4 and 3 and Russell Locke def Michael Sloan 1 up.

Division 6 Nagambie def Mooroopna 3 and 2

Two different clubs were out to win this Division this year with Nagambie in its first final for a few years.

Barry Cryer lost to Roger Madgwick 1 up, Phil Neville def Tony Barca 2 up, Shaun Bryant def Alan Treves 3 and 2, Shane McCormick def Greg Freer 4 and 3 and David Love lost to Troy Lunberg 3 and 2.

The Goulburn Valley Sandscrape Championship will be held Sunday the 7/8/16 at Tallygaroopna Golf Club.  Entries can be made to Sparra Montgomery on 0418 579 474.

The Goulburn Valley 2016 Championship this year is being held on Sunday the 21/8/16.  The Entry form will be available on the web site shortly once the venue is confirmed.

Ross Campbell GV Captain