Peter FraserMr Peter Fraser, President GVDGA.

Welcome to a brief history of Goulburn Valley Golf. There are a small number of clubs who will be in the process of organizing a celebration of 100 years of our magnificent game. The Goulburn Valley District was founded in 1929 with 12 clubs comprising Nathalia, Cobram, Numurkah, Tongala, Kyabram, Mooroopna, Tatura, Rushworth, Murchison, Shepparton, Nagambie and Echuca.

The first President was a Mr. N.L.Moss who presided for 14 years. Secretary Mr. H.McKenzie 9 years. The Association went into recess for four years during the Second World War. Currently there are 20 clubs who represent the district.

Significant contributions have been made to the association by virtue of acting in executive rolls they being Mr K.Little 1953-1960 combinating President, Captain and Secretary rolls. Mr G.A.(Bert) Larsen ( Life Member) V.G.A Councillor. He filled the roll of Secretary / Captain for 8 years 1966-1973 then Captain again 1974. Mr Gray Barton (Life Member) President 1964-69. Mr Allan Jacobson served as Secretary from 1960-65 then as President 1978-82. Mr Kevin Bourke (Life Member) Captain 1975-79. Mr Graeme Kelly (Life Member) President 1983-88, Captain 1989. Mr John Hammond Secretary 1984-89, President 1993-2000.Current President Mr Peter Fraser 2001 (9 years). Secretary Mr John Love 1990 (20 years) and Captain Mr Mike Keen 1999 (11 years).

Significant Achievements are Victorian Country Champion 1964 Chris Hutchins, John Craig 1980, Terry Vogel 2000, Jarrod Lyle 2003-4.Victorian Sandgreens Champion Ashley Umbers 2004. Victorian Par Three Champion Ashley Umbers 2008.

Ashley Blake selected in 2010 Australian Secondary schools team.

Country Week Shield 1966,1968,1969,1972,1976,1978,1996,2007, 2009,2010.

Country Champion: Ashley Umbers, 2009 R/U, Terry Vogel.

Victorian Amateur Champion: 2010 Jack Wilson.

Victorian Sand Greens Junior Champion: 2010 Luke Petherick.

Goulburn Valley Champion:
1.    R.J.Byham 1948-49-57 -60.

2.    C.Bray       1958-59-61-62.

3.    B.Clarke    1980-81-86-88.

4.    D.Dixon    1994-97-99-2000.

5.    T.Vogel     1992-2001-02-03-05-06. 

6.    B.Docking  2007,2010,

7. A Storer 2011

8. J Zappelli 2012

9. A Burdett 2013

10. B Kellow 2014